2020

POLITICAL SCIENCE (Honours)

Paper Code : VII - A & B (New Syllabus)

Full Marks: 100 Time: Four Hours

Important Instructions for Multiple Choice Question (MCQ)

• Write Subject Name and Code, Registration number, Session and Roll number in the space provided on the Answer Script.

Example: Such as for Paper III-A (MCQ) and III-B (Descriptive).

Subject Code : III A & B

Subject Name :

• Candidates are required to attempt all questions (MCQ). Below each question, four alternatives are given [i.e. (A), (B), (C), (D)]. Only one of these alternatives is 'CORRECT' answer. The candidate has to write the Correct Alternative [i.e. (A)/(B)/(C)/(D)] against each Question No. in the Answer Script.

Example — If alternative A of 1 is correct, then write : $\mathbf{1.} - \mathbf{A}$

• There is no negative marking for wrong answer.

মাল্টিপল চয়েস প্রশ্নের (MCQ) জন্য জরুরী নির্দেশাবলী

• উত্তরপত্রে নির্দেশিত স্থানে বিষয়ের (Subject) নাম এবং কোড, রেজিস্ট্রেশন নম্বর, সেশন এবং রোল নম্বর লিখতে হবে।

উদাহরণ — যেমন Paper III-A (MCQ) এবং III-B (Descriptive)।

Subject Code : III A & B

Subject Name :

• পরীক্ষার্থীদের সবগুলি প্রশ্নের (MCQ) উত্তর দিতে হবে। প্রতিটি প্রশ্নে চারটি করে সম্ভাব্য উত্তর, যথাক্রমে (A), (B), (C) এবং (D) করে দেওয়া আছে। পরীক্ষার্থীকে তার উত্তরের স্বপক্ষে (A)/(B)/(C)/(D) সঠিক বিকল্পটিকে প্রশ্ন নম্বর উল্লেখসহ উত্তরপত্রে লিখতে হবে।

উদাহরণ — যদি 1 নম্বর প্রশ্নের সঠিক উত্তর A হয় তবে লিখতে হবে : 1. — A

ভূল উত্তরের জন্য কোন নেগেটিভ মার্কিং নেই।

Paper Code: VII - A

Full Marks : 20	Time: Thirty Minutes

Choose the correct answer. Each question carries 2 marks.

- 1. Who is the author of the book "Administrative Behaviour"? (A) Herbert Simon (B) L. D. White (C) Henri Fayol (D) F. M. Taylor 2. The Minnowbrook Conference-I took place in the year — (A) 1968
 - (B) 1969
 - (C) 1970
 - (D) 1972
- 3. The founder of Scientific Management theory was
 - (A) F. W. Taylor
 - (B) Herbert Simon
 - (C) Pfiffner
 - (D) Henri Fayol
- 4. The letter "R" in POSDCORB view stands for
 - (A) Retirement
 - (B) Revenue
 - (C) Reporting
 - (D) Risk
- 5. Hawthorne Experiments were conducted during
 - (A) 1927-32
 - (B) 1932-37
 - (C) 1922-26
 - (D) 1942-47

6.	The Estimates Committee consists in —
	(A) 1950
	(B) 1951
	(C) 1952
	(D) 1953
7.	In which year Bengal Municipal Act was passed?
	(A) 1993
	(B) 1995
	(C) 1997
	(D) 1999
8.	In which state for the first time Panchayati Raj was introduced?
	(A) Madhya Pradesh
	(B) Andhra Pradesh
	(C) Uttar Pradesh
	(D) Rajasthan
9.	The founding father of the theory of Bureaucracy was —
	(A) Max Weber
	(B) Karl Marx
	(C) V. I. Lenin
	(D) Stalin
10.	In which year NITI Aayog was setup?
	(A) 1st January 2015
	(B) 1st February 2014
	(C) 1st March 2013
	(D) 1st April 2016

2020

POLITICAL SCIENCE (Honours)

Paper Code : VII - B

(New Syllabus)

Full Marks: 80 Time: Three Hours Thirty Minutes

The figures in the margin indicate full marks.

Group - A

Answer any *four* questions, taking at least *two* from each half. $15 \times 4 = 60$

First Half

- 1. What do you mean by the term "Public Administration"? Discuss its nature and scope. 5+10
- 2. Discuss the Human Relations theory of organization. Point out the limitations of this theory. 10+5
- 3. Discuss the Behavioural Alternative model of administration as propounded by Herbert Simon. What are its limitations?
- 4. Critically discuss Karl Marx's theory of bureaucracy.

Second Half

- 5. Discuss the system of recruitment of civil servants in India. What are its defects?
- 6. Evaluate the changing role of District Magistrates in the context of socio-economic developments in India.
- 7. Explain the functions and role of the Chief Secretary of a state.
- 8. Discuss the structure, functions, and power of Panchayats under the new Panchayati Raj system in West Bengal.

Group - B

9 Write short notes on any *four* of the following:

 $5 \times 4 = 20$

15

- (a) Politics-Administration dichotomy.
- (b) Objectives of training of civil servants.

Turn Over

- (c) Line and staff agency.
- (d) Mayor-in-council.
- (e) Union Public Service Commission.
- (f) National Development Commission.
- (g) 74th Constitutional Amendment Act.

(h) NITI Aayog.